Tags

, , ,

My 7 year old son is really into anything piratie (if there is such a word!) at the moment so I decided to make him a pirate inspired door plaque.

I went to the local ‘craft shop’, I say craft shop but it is actually a bookshop that sells some craft items, there really isn’t anywhere else round here but they sell wood in many shape and sizes, plus, rather bizarrely, Mod Podge. I’ve never used Mod Podge before but keep seeing many videos on YouTube about it so thought I give it a go as they had this pack of 4 mini bottles, that included gloss, matt and for fabric and I have to admit, I really like it. I love the effect it give and its so easy to use.

To make this plaque I covered the wood in a couple of coats of primer, painted the side red with acrylic paint, then once dry stuck a piece of back card on the front of the black. I used my brother scanncut to cut out the skull and name. Once I had stuck everything onto the front of the plaque and coloured the eyes with red acrylic paint, gave the plaque 3 coats of Mod Podge gloss then used Mod Podge Dimensionals to make the eyes pops out a bit. I hope you like it 🙂pirate plaque

